top of page

Spiritual Identity

By Bethany Barker

Several years ago, I was having a lot of self-doubt and I cared way to much about what other people thought of me. This led to me talking with my mentors at the time about it. They told me to start writing three things the bible says about my identity in Christ. I did this for months. I found verses that told me that I am important, strong, and chosen. It changed the way I thought and lived. John 10:10 Jesus says, “The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life and have it to the full.” The enemy is stealing the identity of Christians. He wants us to not know who we are in Christ. On the other hand, knowing your spiritual identity is empowering. When we know our identity in Christ it gives us confidence and awareness of who we are in Christ.

"When we know our identity in Christ it gives us confidence and awareness of who we are in Christ."

One statement I say to myself to remind me of my identity is “I am seen by God”. In Genesis we see a lady name Hagar who was Sarai’s servant (later Sarah). Sarai didn’t not believe the promise that she would have a child, so she took matters into her own hands and gave Hagar to Abram, her husband, to have a child for her. After Ishmael was born to Hagar, Sarai became jealous, and Hagar and her son ended up fleeing. An Angel of the lord appeared to Hagar and said that her descendants through her son would be many. In Genesis 16:13 records, “She (Hagar) gave this name to the LORD who spoke to her: “You are the God who sees me,” for she said, “I have now seen the One who sees me.’” Even through difficult times God sees us. The God who spoke the universe

into motion sees and cares about each one of us and cares about what we are going through. During the times in life when you may feel invisible know that you are seen by God. Today if you are struggling with your identity in Christ, start telling yourself “I am seen by God” and do it daily.


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page